Blue Jays annual Minor League Awards

The Blue Jays held their annual Minor League Awards ceremony on Friday morning at the Bobby Mattick Training Center. More than 200 players were in attendance for the event and while you can find a note about festivities in today’s notebook on the main site here is a complete rundown of the recipients:

Service Award Winners (years spent with the organization):

Five-Year Player Service Awards:

Kevin Ahrens
Daniel Arcila
Aleson Escalante
Alan Farina
Balbino Fuenmayor
Leo Hernandez
Justin Jackson
Mike McDade
Alex Ramirez
Jonathan Talley
John Tolisano
Marcus Walden

Staff Service Awards:

Five Years:

Dan McIntosh
Chad Mottola
Danny Solano  

Ten Years: 

Voon Chong
John Schneider

Fifteen Years:

Vince Horsman
Dane Johnson  

Winning Baseball Awards:

Quality At Bats Champions

Las Vegas: David Cooper
New Hampshire: Anthony Gose
Dunedin: Brad McElroy
Lansing: Marcus Knecht
Vancouver: Jon Berti
Bluefield: Andy Fermin
GCL: Eric Arce

Pitching Awards:

Las Vegas:  Brad Mills
New Hampshire:  Chad Jenkins/Joel Carreno
Dunedin: Matt Wright/Ryan Tepera
Lansing: Casey Lawrence
Vancouver:  Justin Nicolino
Bluefield: Tyler Ybarra
GCL: Colby Broussard

Baserunning Award

Doubleplay Buster Champion – Markus Brisker

Tony Fernandez Award, which is named in honour of Toronto Blue Jays Gold Glove Shortstop Tony Fernandez.  It is awarded to a player who displays a tremendous work ethic, pride in their defense, and a passion and gracefulness equal to that displayed by Tony Fernandez. 

2011 winner: Adeiny Hechavarria

Staff Awards

Four Managers of the Year

Appalachian League – Dennis Holmberg
Midwest League – Mike Redmond
Florida State League – Clayton McCullough
Eastern League – Sal Fasano

Trainer of the Year:

Northwest League – Shawn McDermott

Coach of the Year – Award

Eastern League – Brian Pike
Florida State League – Armando Gutierrez

Community Service Award Winner: Anthony Gose

Bobby Mattick Award – Dennis Holmberg

Webster Award Winners (MVPs):

Dominican Summer League: Jario Labourt
Gulf Coast Blue Jays: Jorge Vega-Rosado
Bluefield Blue Jays: Chris Hawkins
Vancouver Canadians: Justin Nicolino
Lansing Lugnuts: Jacob Marisnick
Dunedin Blue Jays: A.J. Jimenez
New Hampshire Fisher Cats: Travis d’Arnaud (also won Eastern League MVP)
Las Vegas 51s: David Cooper

Individual Achievements:

Appalachian League – RBI leader – Art Charles  61
Eastern League – stolen base leader (70) Anthony Gose
FSL – saves leader (32)  Wes Etheridge  — also a Dunedin franchise record
NWL – saves leader (15) Drew Permison NWL – wins leader (7) Phillip Brua
Gulf Coast League record for home runs, 14 by Eric Arce
Florida State League – Home Run Champ – Brad Glenn (26)
PCL Batting Title –  David Cooper .364
Appalachian League Batting Title  – Kevin Pillar .347      

Major League Debuts:

David Cooper
Darin Mastroianni
Joel Carreno
Luis Perez
Henderson Alvarez
Brian Jeroloman
Eric Thames
Daniel Farquhar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: